PRESS RELEASE: ADAO Recognizes the U.S. Senate for Significant Improvements towards Achieving TSCA Reform to Protect Citizens from Dangerous Toxins Including Asbestos 

Posted on December 18, 2015

Congratulations, you were heard, but there is more work to do to ban asbestos!

Senate TSCA Reform Bill Passes Recognizing Asbestos as a Carcinogen CANVAThe Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization recognizes the U.S. Senate for the passing the Frank R. Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act, the first overhaul of the nation’s primary chemical statute passed in 1976. Although amendments in S. 697 brought significant improvements towards achieving TSCA reform,  the legislation doesn’t go far enough. Further improvements must be made in the upcoming reconciliation process between the U.S. House and the U.S. Senate to ensure that the EPA can fully protect the public from toxic chemicals like asbestos before the bill is presented to the President for his review and signature.  ADAO fully intends to continue working with Members of Congress to strengthen S. 697 to it’s fullest potential.

ADAO would like to applaud Senator Boxer for her unrelenting leadership and steadfast determination in fighting to truly protect people’s health and environment as well as recognizing that the fight is not over.

“I have been assured that as the House and Senate bills are merged into one, the voices of those who have been most deeply affected, including nurses, breast cancer survivors, asbestos victims, and children, will be heard. I will have the opportunity to be in the room at every step and express their views.” – Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

The TSCA bill, sponsored by Sen. Tom Udall (D-N.M.), received overwhelmingly broad support from both the U.S. House and the U.S. Senate as well as the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Environmental Defense Fund,National Association of Manufacturers, and the chemical industry, including DuPont, 3M, Dow Chemical Co., and the National Association of Chemical Distributors (NACD). Below is video of Chairman Inhofe (R-OK) speaking on the Senate floor and the voice vote for S. 697. Please note that ADAO is not listed as a supporter of S. 697.

Over the years, ADAO has worked with numerous organizations, trade unions, and institutions dedicated to passing REAL TSCA reform.   We send our thanks to Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families, Natural Resources Defense Council, Breast Cancer Fund, Center for Environmental Health, Environmental Working Group, Asbestos Nation, and many others.  Through our collective activism, we have stood unwaveringly for improved TSCA legislation that would protect public health and our environment by strengthening S. 697.  We’re excited to share that after many discussions, the bill now recognizes asbestos as a high-priority chemical.

ADAO recognizes that without the relentless support, the powerful story sharing, and the passion of the asbestos-related community, this bill surely would not have been amended to the improved status it is now.  Please continue to share your story and  be sure to check in with an ADAO regional representative (listed below) to hear additional ways to support the worldwide movement to bring awareness and ban asbestos.

We are proud of the landmark progress we have achieved to end the asbestos man-made disaster and we look forward to continuing this fight in 2016!

In unity,


Social Networks

Region 1: Eastern Region – Marilyn Amento (Eastern Region) : Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida,  Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia.

Region 2: Midwestern Region– Heather Von St. James (Midwestern Region) : Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota.

Region 3: Western Region – Ann Samuelson (Western Region) : Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, New Mexico, Montana, Utah, Nevada, Wyoming, Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington.

“Sen. Inhofe on Senate Floor: Christmas Wish on TSCA Granted to Inhofe, Vitter, Udall”