2015 Conference Info |  2005 – 2014 Conferences Infographic |  Registration | EventsAgenda | Awards Dinner | Honorees | Speakers | Speaker Information | Family Tour | Sponsors | Brunch | Media | Tributes 


Posted on January 20, 2015

2015 ADAO Asbestos Awareness Conference Honorees

2013 Conference- Honorees

American Public Health Association (APHA) will receive the Tribute of Unity Award for their relentless efforts, both nationally and internationally, to protect public health, ban asbestos, and increase public awareness about the danger of asbestos.

International Mesothelioma Interest Group (iMig) will be presented with the Tribute of Hope Award for their steadfast commitment to advancing mesothelioma treatment, research for a cure, and  patient support.

The Brazilian Labour Public Ministry will be presented with the Tribute of Inspiration Award for their untiring efforts to protect workers’ safety and health at the workplaces and pursuit of truth and justice for the asbestos workers and victims.

Dr. Jorma Rantanen will be recognized with the Dr. Irving Selikoff Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of his tireless dedication to increasing awareness about asbestos to eliminate diseases.

Troi Atkinson, a mesothelioma patient, will be honored with the Warren Zevon “Keep me in Your Heart” Award for being an ADAO Ambassador to increase asbestos and mesothelioma awareness.

Congressman Bruce Vento will be honored posthumously with the 2014 Warren Zevon “Keep me in Your Heart” Memorial Tribute for his countless years of public service as a legislator and public servant.

Ellen Patton, a mesothelioma patient, will be recognized with the Alan Reinstein Award for her commitment to education, advocacy, and support to countless patients and families.


ADAO is the only U.S. nonprofit organizing annual conferences dedicated solely to preventing exposure and eliminating asbestos-caused diseases, and eagerly looks forward to seeing everyone in Washington, D.C. in April!


The Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO),  a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, does not make legal referrals.