ADAO 16th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference
“Where Knowledge and Action Unite”
April 3 – 5, 2020
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

2020 Conference Info | Speakers | Honorees and Keynote Speakers | Know Before You Go | Registration | Marriott Reservations | Agenda | RSVP for Events | Friday – Community Event | Friday – Casual Dinner | Saturday Academic Conference | Saturday “Meet the Artists” Reception and Gala Awards Dinner | Sunday Brunch | Speaker Information | Tributes| Sponsors | Media | Meet the Speakers Blog Series | Previous Conferences | 2020 Conference Infographic | 2020 Livestream

February 20, 2020

Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO) Announces Honorees and Keynote Speakers of the 16th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference

The annual conference “Where Knowledge and Action Unite” will be held in Washington, D.C. April 3-5, 2020

WASHINGTON, DC – The Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO), an independent nonprofit dedicated to preventing asbestos exposure, today announced the honorees for its 16th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference, “Where Knowledge and Action Unite,” April 3-5 in Washington, D.C.

On Saturday, April 4, 2020, we will recognize our Conference Honorees during ADAO’s 16th Annual Gala Awards and Recognition Dinner, from 6:30 pm – 9:00 pm ET.

This year’s academic conference recognizes a number of distinguished individuals who have given of themselves to help in the fight against asbestos disease, to help influence a ban, and uncover injustices that have led to our current asbestos crisis.

2020 Asbestos Awareness Conference Keynote Speakers Include:

Saturday, April 4, 2020 Keynote Speaker
Rebecca L. Reindel, MS, MPH, AFL-CIO

Saturday, April 4, 2020 Andrew Schneider Memorial Lecturer 
Wendy Ruderman, Philadelphia Inquirer

Sunday, April 5, 2020 Unity and Remembrance Brunch Keynote Speaker
Julie Gundlach, Mesothelioma Warrior

2020 Asbestos Awareness Conference Honorees Include:

The Tribute of Hope Award
The Honorable Congressman John Shimkus, and The Honorable Congressman Paul Tonko

Tribute of Unity Award
The American Federation of Teachers

Warren Zevon Keep Me In Your Heart Award 
Judd Apatow, award-winning filmmaker

The Dr. Irving Selikoff Lifetime Achievement Award 
Dr. Jacqueline M. Moline

Alan Reinstein Award
Barry Robson 

Alan Reinstein Award
Robert Sussman 

Tribute of Inspiration Award
Alan Reinstein Ban Asbestos Now Act (ARBAN) Supporters: AFL-CIO; American Federation of Teachers; American Public Health Association; Center for Environmental Health; Environmental Protection Network; Canadian Environmental Law Association; Collegium Ramazzini; Environmental Health Strategy Center; Environmental Information Association; Environmental Working Group; The Fealgood Foundation; Global Ban Asbestos Network; GO 2 Foundation for Lung Cancer; Hazards: International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers; International Association of Fire Fighters; Less Cancer; Natural Resources Defense Council; OK International; Public Citizen; Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families; Toxic-Free Future; United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry; United States Public Interest Research Groups; and internationally, Associação Brasileira dos Expostos ao Amianto. 

2020 Asbestos Awareness Conference Sponsors Include: 

Platinum Sponsor
Simmons Hanly Conroy, LLC 

Gold Sponsors
American Federation of Teachers and Motley Rice LLC

Silver Sponsors
Early, Lucarelli, Sweeney & Meisenkothen and Weitz & Luxenberg PC

2020 Bronze Sponsor
International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers